IN THE SUPREME COURT OF INDIA INHERENT JURISDICTION

CONTEMPT PETITION (CIVIL) NO.2110 OF 2018 IN

WRIT PETITION (CIVIL) NO.310 OF 1996

Concerned People of Nagaland Through Its Convenor Petitioner(s)

Versus

Shri R.B. Thong, IAS, Chief Secretary to the Government, Nagaland Respondent(s)

ORDER

This contempt petition has been filed alleging willful disobedience of the order of this Court passed on 22nd September, 2006 in Writ Petition (C) No.310 of 1996 [Prakash Singh and Others vs. Union of India and Others, (2006) 8 SCC 1] by which empanellment by the Union Public Service Commission was required to be obtained before appointment of the Director General of Police in a State. The allegation is that the matter was not referred to the Union Public Service Commission and the appointment of the incumbent was made in violation of this Court's order, as noted above.

We have read and considered the affidavit filed by the Chief Secretary, wherein it has been stated that in the WP(C) 310/1996

2

State of Nagaland there are only a handful of IPS officers and large number of posts in the said cadre are vacant. Furthermore as there was no IPS officer in the Nagaland cadre who had completed 30 years of service, the appointment had been made from outside the cadre and, therefore, the matter was not referred to the Union Public Service Commission.

If that was the case, the State ought to have taken this Court into confidence before resorting to the impugned action. However, having regard to the grounds on which the directions of this Court have been departed from, we are of the view that no case of willful disobedience of the Court is made out. The State Government should take note of above observation and would either comply with the direction or move an application before this Court.

With the aforesaid observations, the contempt petition is not entertained any further. It is, accordingly, dismissed.

	CJI. [Ranjan Gogoi]
New Delhi	J. [Sanjiv Khanna]

April 12, 2019.

ITEM NO.40 COURT NO.1 SECTION PIL-W

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition (Civil) No.310/1996

3

PRAKASH SINGH & ORS.

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA

Respondent(s)

WITH CONMT.PET.(C) No.2110/2018 in W.P.(C) No.310/1996 (PIL-W)

Date: 12-04-2019 This petition was called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE SANJIV KHANNA

For Petitioner(s)

Mr. Prashant Bhushan, AOR

CP(C) 2110/18

Dr. B.B. Parsoon, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Daya Krishan Sharma, AOR

Ms. Monika Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Sonam Priya, Adv.

Dr. Shiva Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Sachin Bajpai, Adv.

For Respondent(s)

Ms. Pinky Anand, ASG

Ms. V. Mohana, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Wasim A. Qadri, Sr. Adv.

Ms. Binu Tamta, Adv.

Ms. Nikita Kapoor, Adv.

Ms. Ankita Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Kashvi Dutta, Adv.

Ms. Saudamini sharma, Adv.

Mr. Sumit Teterwal, Adv.

Mr. B. V. Balaram Das, AOR

Mr. M. Yogesh Kanna, AOR

Mr. S. Parthaasarathi, Adv.

Mr. S. Raja Rajeshwaran, Adv.

Mr. M. Shoeb Alam, AOR

Mr. Ujjwal Singh, Adv.

Mr. Gautam Parbhakar, Adv.

Mr. Mojahid Karim Khan, Adv.

Ms. Uttara Babbar, AOR

Mr. Manan Bansal, Adv.

Ms. Kaveeta Wadia, AOR

Mr. P. V. Dinesh, AOR

Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. Gunnam Venkateswara Rao, AOR

Mr. P. Parmeswaran, AOR

M/s. S. Narain & Co.

Ms. Rachana Srivastava, AOR

Mr. Kamlendra Mishra, AOR

Mr. P. V. Yogeswaran, AOR

Mr. T. V. George, AOR

Ms. Hemantika Wahi, AOR

Ms. Jesal Wahi, Adv.

Ms. Puja Singh, Adv.

Ms. Vishakha, Adv.

Mr. Gopal Prasad, AOR

Mr. Rajesh Srivastava, AOR

Ms. Sumita Hazarika, AOR

M/s. Venkat Palwai Law Associates

Mr. Dharmendra Kumar Sinha, AOR

Mr. Ashok Mathur, AOR

Mr. B. Balaji, AOR

Mr. Tara Chandra Sharma, AOR

Mr. Radha Shyam Jena, AOR

Mr. Mohanprasad Meharia, AOR

Mr. Kuldip Singh, AOR

Mr. Anip Sachthey, AOR

Mr. Anuvrat Sharma, AOR

- Mr. Lakshmi Raman Singh, AOR
- Mr. Ranjan Mukherjee, AOR
- Mr. Upendra Mishra, Adv.
- Mr. Rajiv Lochan, Adv.
- Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR
- Mr. Parikshit P. Angadi, Adv.
- Mr. Mahender Pal Gupta, Adv.
- Ms. Anitha Shenoy, AOR
- Mr. Aniruddha P. Mayee, AOR
- Mr. C. K. Sasi, AOR
- Ms. Nayantara Roy, Adv.
- Mr. Abdulla Naseeh, Adv.
- Mr. T. Harish Kumar, AOR
- Mr. Gopal Singh, AOR
- Mr. Manish Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. R. Ayyam Perumal, AOR
- Mr. Anil Shrivastav, AOR
- Mr. Atmaram N.S. Nadkarni, ASG
- Mr. Merusagar Samantaray, AOR
- Mr. Leelesh Krishna, Adv.
- Mr. Salvador Santosh Rebello, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek, AOR
- Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR
- Mr. Kabir Shankar Bose, Adv.
- Mr. Rijuk Sarkar, Adv.
- Ms. Manreet Kaur, Adv.
- Mr. Suhaan Mukerji, Adv.
- Ms. Astha Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Amit Verma, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek Manchnda, Adv.
- Ms. Kajal Dalal, Adv.
- Ms. Dimple Nagpal, Adv.
- M/s. Plr Chambers And Co.
- Mr. Abhinav Mukerji, AOR
- Mrs. Bihu Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Siddharth Garg, Adv.
- Ms. Pratishtha Vij, Adv.

Ms. Abha R. Sharma, AOR

Mr. G. Prakash, AOR

Mr. Jishnu M.L., Adv.

Mrs. Priyanka Prakash, Adv.

Mrs. Beena Prakash, Adv.

Mr. K.N. Balgopal, Adv. Gen.

Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR

Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv.

Mr. A.P. Mukundan, Adv.

Ms. Nitya Nambiar, Adv.

Mr. Vitso Rio, Adv.

Mr. Nishant R. Katneshwarkar, Adv.

Ms. Deepa M. Kularni, Adv.

Mr. Sumeer Sodhi, Adv.

Mr. Arjun Nanda, Adv.

Mr. Ashish Tiwari, Adv.

Ms. Swarupama Chaturvedi, Adv.

Mr. Raghvender, Adv.

Ms. Charu Singhal, Adv.

Ms. Aruna Mathur, Adv.

Mr. Avneesh Arputham, Adv.

Ms. Anuradha Arputham, Adv.

Ms. Geetanjali, Adv.

Mr. Siddhesh Kotwal, Adv.

Ms. Bansuri Swaraj, Adv.

Mr. Raghunatha Sethupathy, Adv.

Mr. Gagan Narang, Adv.

Ms. Arshiya Ghose, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

CONMT.PET.(C) No.2110/2018 in W.P.(C) No.310/1996

The contempt petition is dismissed in terms of the signed order.

(Chetan Kumar) (Anand Prakash)
A.R.-cum-P.S. Court Master

(Signed order is placed on the file)